HomeFishing licences › Nevada Fishing License
State agency

Nevada Fishing License

Nevada Department of Wildlife (NDOW)

Contact

Address
Western Region Office, 1100 Valley Rd.
Reno, NV 89512
Western Region Office (Reno)
775-688-1506
Eastern Region Office, 60 Youth Center Rd, Elko NV 89801
775-777-2300
Southern Region Office, 3373 Pepper Lane, Las Vegas NV 89120
702-486-5127
Ely office
775-289-1655
Fallon office
775-688-1820
Winnemucca office
775-623-6565
Website
ndow.org

At a glance

Licences and permits
16
Of which specialty
3
Cheapest listed licence
$9.00
Free fishing days
Free Fishing Day, June 13, 2026 - a fishing license is not required statewide for the day. NDOW's own event page for this could not be fetched directly (robots.txt), so the date is recorded from the NDOW event listing title returned in search results and corroborated by contemporaneous Nevada news coverage.
Fees verified
4 Sep 2026

Who does not need one

Nevada requires a fishing license of any resident age 12 or older who fishes in Nevada. Anglers under 12 need no license. Anglers age 12 through 17 buy the $15 youth combination hunt/fish license rather than a stand-alone fishing license; stand-alone annual fishing licenses are sold to persons 18 and older.

Specialty licences 3

Extra items an angler must hold on top of the base licence. These are the ones most often missed — a base licence alone does not cover them.

LicenceTypeWho needs it Applies toFee
Second Rod StampREQUIREMENT CONFIRMED, PRICE NOT VERIFIED. NAC 502.297 establishes that a fee is paid for the second-rod privilege but does not state the amount, and the fee is not listed in NRS 502.240 or on the eRegulations Nevada fishing fee page. NDOW's own fee pages are blocked to automated fetching (robots.txt), so no official dollar figure could be loaded this session. Left null rather than guessed. Stamp Any angler who wants to fish with a second combination of hook, line and rod. NAC 502.297 requires either a validated second-rod stamp affixed to the fishing license or other NDOW documentation proving the second-rod fee has been paid for the licensing period. No one may use more than two rod combinations at a time. Any · annual · all Not published
Nevada Special Fishing PermitOrganisational permit, not an individual angling licence. Permit Nonprofit organisations running a fishing event under NRS 502.077 Any · short-term · all $25.00
Nonresident Interstate Boundary Waters Fishing LicenseDefined in NAC 502.084 as 'an annual license to fish solely in the reciprocal waters of the Colorado River, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake'. Fee set by NRS 502.240. It is a cheaper alternative to the $80 full nonresident annual license for anglers who only fish those boundary waters. Permit Nonresidents fishing solely in Nevada's reciprocal interstate boundary waters - the Colorado River, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake. This is the license that covers the Nevada/Arizona shared Colorado River system waters. Non-resident · annual · 18+ $30.00

Every licence and fee 16

LicenceResidencyTerm AgesFee
Base licence 4
Resident 1-Day Fishing Permit Residents wanting a short-term fishing permit Each additional consecutive day added to the permit is $3.00. Resident 1-day 12+ $9.00
Nonresident 1-Day Fishing Permit Nonresidents wanting a short-term fishing permit Each additional consecutive day added to the permit is $7.00. Non-resident 1-day 12+ $18.00
Resident Annual Fishing License Nevada residents age 18 and older fishing Nevada waters Fee set by NRS 502.240. Resident annual 18+ $40.00
Nonresident Annual Fishing License Nonresidents age 18 and older fishing Nevada waters Fee set by NRS 502.240. Non-resident annual 18+ $80.00
Combination licence 9
Resident Native American Specialty Combination License Resident Native Americans, under NRS 502.280 Resident annual all $10.00
Resident Disabled Veteran Specialty Combination License Qualifying Nevada resident disabled veterans Resident annual all $15.00
Resident Senior Specialty Combination License (age 65+) Nevada residents age 65 and older Fee set by NRS 502.240. Resident annual 65+ $15.00
Resident Serviceman Specialty Combination License Qualifying Nevada resident service members Resident annual all $15.00
Resident Severe Disability Specialty Combination License Nevada residents with a severe disability Resident annual all $15.00
Youth Combination Hunting and Fishing License (ages 12-17) Anglers at least 12 but under 18. Nevada does not sell a stand-alone youth fishing license - the youth product is a combination hunt/fish license. Same $15.00 price for resident and nonresident youth. Any annual 12-17 $15.00
Nonresident 1-Day Combination Fishing / Upland Game Permit Nonresidents wanting a one-day combined fishing and upland game permit Each additional consecutive day is $8.00. Non-resident 1-day 12+ $23.00
Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License Residents age 18 and older wanting hunting and fishing privileges on one license Resident annual 18+ $75.00
Nonresident Combination Hunting and Fishing License Nonresidents age 18 and older wanting hunting and fishing privileges on one license Non-resident annual 18+ $155.00
Stamp 1
Second Rod Stamp Any angler who wants to fish with a second combination of hook, line and rod. NAC 502.297 requires either a validated second-rod stamp affixed to the fishing license or other NDOW documentation proving the second-rod fee has been paid for the licensing period. No one may use more than two rod combinations at a time. REQUIREMENT CONFIRMED, PRICE NOT VERIFIED. NAC 502.297 establishes that a fee is paid for the second-rod privilege but does not state the amount, and the fee is not listed in NRS 502.240 or on the eRegulations Nevada fishing fee page. NDOW's own fee pages are blocked to automated fetching (robots.txt), so no official dollar figure could be loaded this session. Left null rather than guessed. Any annual all Not published
Permit 2
Nevada Special Fishing Permit Nonprofit organisations running a fishing event under NRS 502.077 Organisational permit, not an individual angling licence. Any short-term all $25.00
Nonresident Interstate Boundary Waters Fishing License Nonresidents fishing solely in Nevada's reciprocal interstate boundary waters - the Colorado River, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake. This is the license that covers the Nevada/Arizona shared Colorado River system waters. Defined in NAC 502.084 as 'an annual license to fish solely in the reciprocal waters of the Colorado River, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake'. Fee set by NRS 502.240. It is a cheaper alternative to the $80 full nonresident annual license for anglers who only fish those boundary waters. Non-resident annual 18+ $30.00

Fees as published by Nevada Wildlife and read on 4 September 2026. Agencies change fees without notice and vendors add issuing charges, so confirm the current price at the point of sale. We do not reproduce seasons, limits or gear rules — see the agency's regulations page for those.

Notes on this listing

SOURCE SUBSTITUTION: every ndow.org URL tried this session returned ROBOTS_DISALLOWED, including the fishing apply-and-buy page and the annual fishing regulations PDF. Fees were therefore taken from eRegulations, which is NDOW's contracted regulations publisher, and independently cross-checked against Nevada Revised Statutes 502.240 via the statute text. Every fee that appears in both sources matches exactly: resident annual fishing $40, nonresident annual $80, resident 1-day $9 plus $3 per additional day, nonresident 1-day $18 plus $7 per additional day, resident combination $75, nonresident combination $155, specialty combination $15 / Native American $10, and the nonresident interstate boundary waters license $30. TROUT STAMP - IMPORTANT CORRECTION: Nevada no longer has a trout stamp. NRS 502.326, the statute that made it unlawful to take or possess trout without a trout stamp, was REPEALED by chapter 533, Statutes of Nevada 2017. Consistent with that, no trout stamp appears on the eRegulations Nevada fishing licenses/permits/fees page, in the general statewide fishing regulations, or in the current NRS 502.240 fee schedule. No trout stamp row is therefore included, and none should be added. SECOND ROD: the requirement is real and current - NAC 502.297 requires a validated second-rod stamp or equivalent NDOW documentation that the second-rod fee has been paid - but the dollar amount is set administratively and is not published in NRS 502.240, NAC 502, or on the eRegulations fee page, and NDOW's own fee page is unfetchable. The price is null with that explanation rather than a guess. INTERSTATE BOUNDARY WATERS: confirmed as a real nonresident product covering the Colorado River, Lake Mead, Lake Mohave, Lake Tahoe and Topaz Lake, defined in NAC 502.084 and priced at $30 in NRS 502.240. CONTACT: NDOW does not publish a headquarters address on any page fetchable this session; the address and phone recorded are the Western Region Office in Reno, with the other regional offices in alt_phones. NDOW email, office hours and social handles could not be loaded and are left null or blank. The two nevada.public.law URLs are unofficial mirrors of Nevada statute text, used only because leg.state.nv.us returns NRS chapter 502 as a single page too large to reach the fee sections; the NAC citation is from the official leg.state.nv.us host.

About Nevada Wildlife

Nevada Department of Wildlife is the agency that issues fishing licences in Nevada and sets what every angler on its water has to carry.

Base and combination licences run from $9.00 to $155.00 depending on residency, term and age.

Beyond the base licence there are 3 specialty items to watch for, including the Second Rod Stamp, Nevada Special Fishing Permit and the Nonresident Interstate Boundary Waters Fishing License. These are separate purchases and a base licence does not cover them.

Free fishing days: Free Fishing Day, June 13, 2026 – a fishing license is not required statewide for the day. NDOW’s own event page for this could not be fetched directly (robots.txt), so the date is recorded from the NDOW event listing title returned in search results and corroborated by contemporaneous Nevada news coverage.

The fee table below was read from official sources on 4 September 2026. We list what each item is called, who needs it and what it costs, and link out for the rules themselves — seasons, limits and gear regulations live on the agency’s own page and change too often to mirror.

Sources